Pa’i ki’i Imagery

July 28, 2008

Lightroom 2 has been released

Adobe just released Version 2 of Lightroom. I’ve been using the Beta since April. It had plenty of new features. They added more in the final release. Such as a Graduated Filter. John Nack has some of the details Lightroom 2 is here.

There are alot of great things in LR2. Localized corrections is at the top of the list.

There are two things the engineers did that just annoy the heck outa me! First they removed the metadata browser panel on the lower left side of the Library module. This kept a running total of the camera type, lens types, file type, Aperture, shutter speed, date. Just click the lens type and all the photos taken with that lens would be shown. Now you have to create a filter preset and then run the preset to get the info. That’s not streamlining your workflow. What’s also not streamlining is the decision to move the straightening tool from underneath the photo to the upper right panel in the Develop Module. I liked using the slider. With it underneath, I just looked down to manipulate it. Now I need to look up and away. This draws my attention away from the photo more than the other way and I don’t like that.

If you’ve been considering Lightroom, I recommend it despite my annoyances.

Remember the Fifth Rule.

Blog at WordPress.com.