Pa’i ki’i Imagery

June 10, 2008

Noise

Filed under: Photography — paikiiimagery @ 11:47 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Since I got the Sony A700 DSLR about three weeks ago I’ve had a couple of opportunities to use it in low light. A couple of University of Hawaii night baseball games and the Floating Lantern ceremony at Ala Moana Beach Park.

The baseball game is difficult because I want to use a fast shutter speed to catch the action and my best lens is the Tokina AT-X 80-400mm 4.5 -5.6. During a day game I get good shots. At night it’s harder because the quality of the stadium lighting falls off the further away the action is. For instance, action I capture along the baseline I’m sitting near is okay. Moving out to second base or beyond is less good (to put it kindly).
Here’s an image 1/800sec at f5.0. Since the baseball game were the first opportunity to use it I ran the ISO up to 6400. Beyond the default settings applied at import into Lightroom no other processing has been applied. With adequate stadium lighting this is not bad.

Compare it to a similar picture taken with my Maxxum 7D at ISO 3200 and 1/250 sec f5.6 such as this one from the year before.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

