Pa’i ki’i Imagery

April 21, 2008

Shooting in RAW

Filed under: Photography,Software — paikiiimagery @ 8:04 pm
Tags: , ,

Listening to a recent podcast of the Pro Photography Roundtable. One of the guys software pick was called PhotoME. If you like to shoot in the RAW (and who doesn’t?) instead of dressed in JPEG you might want to consider this free program.

PhotoME is a powerful tool to show and edit the meta data of image files. Thanks to the well organised layout and intuitive handling, it’s possible to analyse and modify Exif and IPTC-NAA data as well as analyse ICC profiles – and it’s completely FREE!

After I got my Maxxum 7D I found that ACR read the MRW files just fine but for some reason it wouldn’t show what lens I used. Fortunately I found ExifTool by Phil Harvey. A command line utility that does a whole lot of good stuff for those of us who want to extract info from image files. For me it meant I could create XMP sidecar files with the lens info. I’ve been a happy camper ever since.

While ExifTool is a command line utility. PhotoMe present the information in a nice tabbed GUI layout. After I found ExifTool I didn’t bother to see if there was another Da Kine. It’s nice to see other good programmers are out there creating tools for the rest of us! If you know about other similar tools out there leave a comment.

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for the PPS mention. That photoMe seemed really cool. I’m a mac user so I didn’t get to use it, but it could be a good workflow tool.

    Gavin

    Comment by Gavin Seim — April 21, 2008 @ 8:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

